Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Looking to Learn Hunting (Idaho)

cufootball50

Hi all, newbie here. Recently moved to ID about a year ago and have never hunted outside of small fowl. I have always wanted to learn to hunt big game, didn't come from a hunting family so everything is foreign to me. Hopefully will learn about how, what I need and the fine points I can learn virtually so I can hopefully hunt next fall and figure who to hunt with and where to hunt.

Last edited:
Hello!

Here’s my recommendation - Idaho BHA learn to hunt program. I know some of the mentors and a few people who have gone through the program. It’ll give you a good start but you’ll need to put the field time in to be successful.

Hello!

Here’s my recommendation - Idaho BHA learn to hunt program. I know some of the mentors and a few people who have gone through the program. It’ll give you a good start but you’ll need to put the field time in to be successful.

been looking for something like this. Definitely will check it out

Where are you in Idaho?
Don't forget Outdoor Class. Be careful though. You can end up on there when you should be in the woods.

Dive in and simply go do it. A lot.

Find a mentor. A quality mentor is worth beyond their weight in gold. Being INVOLVED in organizations like the Foundation for Wildlife Management (F4WM), the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, the Mule Deer Foundation, the Idaho Wild Sheep Society, Rocky Mountain Goat Alliance will offer tremendous opportunity.

You live in the ‘where‘ regardless of where you are in Idaho.

The gear and the stuff are the easy part. The ‘how‘ is the stuff that matters.

Last edited:
Welcome from a fellow Idaho resident, I also went to grad school at CU Boulder -

Welcome from MT.