6 points in wyoming, unsure what to do

tom338

So going into the draw this season I have 6 points in Wyoming, my hunting partner has 3. So if we go together it a 4.5 average. But I'm 61 he's 35. I am looking at units and it seems the better units take lots more points or a hunt in the wilderness areas with a guide or a guided hunt period. I have been researching units in Wyoming for a couple years and nothing looks all that great with the points I now have. Is that thinking correct or am I missing something?? I am planning to hunt Montana again this year, just a general area, hope I get drawn. I don't have $$ to throw at a high price guided hunt right now either. Do you wait for another 5-8 years and build more points. Wish I didn't have this many points but have tried to do hunts in better units and point creep burnt me the last 3 seasons. Any suggestions that are reasonable?? Maybe just hunt myself with the points I have?

My friend and I are in a similar spot. He has 7 and I have 5, so 6 average. 6 + points puts you in some decent units and we are considering the "special" draw to increase our odds. In my research the gap between 6 and 4.5 is significant. You might be better off hunting by yourself.

One thing you could do is look at the 6 point units that have bull and cow tags available. So you put in for the bull which you will draw for sure and then your buddy tries to get cow tags. If you only had 1 more point :)

Last edited:
The one more point comment got a very good laugh out of me, but it sure is true!!

I would take MN's advice, try to get your buddy a cow tag for your area then you both hunt and he learns some things for a possible bull hunt later.
The cow/calf tag won't take his PP and is much cheaper if he draws it, or both put in for cows to get to know an area for a later hunt.