Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Wyoming Elk Planning with 11 Points as NR

Joe Hulburt

The two oldest boys and I have been buying Wyoming points for 11 years and honestly wish we had used them last year given the increase in cost of the Special tags this year but we didn't as we had a lot of hunts already planned. We want to at least apply for tags this year as none of us expect to draw any tags elsewhere. This is our situation...

We primarily archery hunt but would possibly make a trip back for rifle if we got a tag that allowed for it. I'm hearing the Type 9 tag areas are more crowded during archery than Type 1 areas than also allow archery hunting. Is this accurate?

We don't have pack animals but we're use to packing elk meat out of our backs a reasonable distance. With that said I am 57 years old so reasonable means taking that into account. The boys are tough as they come and will want to go a lot deeper in than I.

I don't care to hunt in Grizzly country if it can be avoided as I have no experience with them.

I'm confused why some of the units we could possibly draw with 11 points also have General Tags that could be drawn with a lot less points. What am I missing here?

We've Pronghorn hunted sage country in Wyoming 2 times and I have yet to see an elk in Wyoming so those areas seem to be off the table.

Any advice is appreciated! It's a lot to sort out for those of us with little knowledge of Wyoming.

Yes type 9 only areas are usually more crowded as people take them more seriously than if they can sleep in and come back with a rifle and put one in the dirt.

With all of the caveats you have placed on your hunt there is basically only 1 mountain range that fits all your bills. All of the type 9 tags in that mountain range are good and can provide a quality hunt for you and your family, regardless of which ones the internet says are better.

Good luck!