Caribou Gear Tarp

States that refund Licence Fees

Northernlilywhite

Hi All,
I am a NH resident looking to make an annual hunting trip out west for big game I can't hunt back East. I am from the deepest woods of New England so this is a decent investment for me with tags, logistics, fuel, time off, etc, so I want to make sure I am going about this right.

From listening to Randy's podcasts on the Western state draw processes I think I understand how the odds work and the draws work, but what I am struggling to get to is what states are the cheapest.... relatively speaking. I am not talking about the actual tag cost, but the cost of applying unsuccessfully and building up points.

So I have been putting in for Wyoming for Elk and Pronghorn as it doesn't require as much cash out the door and doesn't have as many non-refundable costs. However I want to expand the states I am accumulating points in and get a real game plan for the next 3-6 years of hunting out West.

What I see are three general categories of costs

(1) Tag cost (some states ask for it upfront and refund, others ask for it on successful draw)
(2) Application cost (this is generally a low cost but non refundable ($50 for WY elk for example)
(3) Licence Cost - This is the one that I am asking about. It burns me for states to ask for an out of state resident to pay for an annual hunting licence when we aren't even sure to get a tag. I don't mind paying it if I am actually going to get the opportunity to hunt, but just tacking on $100-200 bucks to the process seems a bit unjustified.

I have done my homework and looked through countless websites for various states but the regulations are not really that clear. I know Wyoming doesn't require it, and New Mexico returns it, and Idaho and AZ charge it upon application and never return it.