Caribou Gear Tarp

New to the west

thomas.orsack

All right first things first....never shot an elk but would love to. I'm originally from Texas and now live in Nevada. Didn't get lucky enough to draw tags for anything again and I miss hunting bad. A lot different here than Texas as far as hunting goes. Now it's been 2 years since I've put an animal on the ground.

I am looking for some good, credible information on Idaho, Utah, or Arizona. I know I can still go to Idaho and get an OTC bull tag or Utah (antlerless) but I have no idea where to go and don't know if I would have time for it this year as work is hectic right now.

I am not a hunter that likes to just shoot anything I see so I'm prepared to pass and maybe not take anything at all.

I'm thinking about my hunt for next year already so that should show whoever reads this that I am dedicated to MY sport of choice.

check out Colorado. I am a student at UNR and have given up on trying to draw here in Nevada so me and my buddies go to Colorado for their OTC Tags. Tons of success in the area north of Gunnison. Dont want to be too specific but anywhere around there is pretty reliable.

P.S. Talked to archery "pro" at Cabelas in Reno and he told me he finally drew a tag for the Elko Zone in NV after 17 years...i double checked to make sure he was referring to Elk not Sheep but he was definitely talking about Elk haha. He was the one that pointed me in the direction of CO.

Wow

Wow. 161 views an 1 response. Should have expected that from a hunting forum.

This one should be "on your own BRAGGING adventures" or maybe "Braggarts adventures on MY own".

You would think that hunters would want to help other hunters out. After all, you can't shoot the whole herd by yourself.

Someone had to point you in the right direction when you started, didn't they. i'm sure that you didn't just go to the woods, find a spot, and say this is it.