Yeti GOBOX Collection

Cabela's Alaskan Guide

bigbear045

Hey Guys,

My hunting partner and I are looking into tents for this upcoming season and I wanted to bounce some questions off you. I am in year 4 of big game hunting in Colorado and we want to make the jump from our backpacking tents to either a wall tent or outfitter tent. Cots, tables, and all that will make for a nicer camp. We have tags for seasons 2 and 4 (Colorado) and like hunting the later seasons for the cold, but that makes camping more challenging. Simply put, we want to get comfortable for our hunts and spend our money well for years to come. I am currently trying to decide between a smaller wall tent or a Cabela's Alaskan Guide tent with a heater. I have used the Guide tents quite a bit in Alaska during the summer. Great tents that are warm but Alaska in rainy aug is different that Colorado in Nov. I have no experience with Wall Tents but I appears to be the common method.

Wall Tent
Pros: Comfortable, large, warm, better in winter than a tent
Cons: Hard to store (I live in a condo in Denver, this is important because I have a lot of gear), set up time, wood stove, costs.

Cabela's Alaskan Guide
Pros: Large, reasonable costs, easy to setup, easy to store, nice for sept and early oct.
Cons: Cant use a stove

Any thoughts?

Thank you

Have you looked into an Alaknak? We have one and love it. Very quick and easy to set up with the ability to use a stove to dry down and warm up.

I don't think the Cabelas Alaskan Guide is a very good cold weather option, even with a heater.

I have a Kodiak 10x14 that easily fits 2 of us with gear and everything. I warm it up with a propane radiant heater, no need for a wood stove. It has been through wind and rain and snow and is still going strong. I can fold it down small enough to fit in a military duffel bag.

Have you looked into an Alaknak? We have one and love it. Very quick and easy to set up with the ability to use a stove to dry down and warm up.