Tent/sleeping bag help?

pasteve

Hello all,
I’m new to backpack elk hunting. I usually car camp Colorado rifle 1st rifle season. This year we are backpack archery hunting. My big A 0 degree sleeping bag I love but it’s also over 7lbs and I’d like to keep the weight down. What are your thoughts on a tart tent for mid sept Colorado around 10,000 ft? Would I be better suited with a dome tent and a lighter sleeping bag? Any thought or insight is greatly appreciated!
Thank you
Steve

Hello all,
I’m new to backpack elk hunting. I usually car camp Colorado rifle 1st rifle season. This year we are backpack archery hunting. My big A 0 degree sleeping bag I love but it’s also over 7lbs and I’d like to keep the weight down. What are your thoughts on a tart tent for mid sept Colorado around 10,000 ft? Would I be better suited with a dome tent and a lighter sleeping bag? Any thought or insight is greatly appreciated!
Thank you
Steve
I’ve done it in worse with a 0 deg. Should be fine. I use the argali Absaroka with a tarp floor. Does just fine. Get a good sleeping pad

I’ve done it in worse with a 0 deg. Should be fine. I use the argali Absaroka with a tarp floor. Does just fine. Get a good sleeping pad
I’ve been looking at the xtherm with a tyvek ground cover

Weather can vary a lot depending on where you're at in Colorado, so I would personally stay with a zero degree bag.

Could go a lighter down bag and bring sleeping layers if the weather looks cold? Or liner

Hello all,
Thank you
Steve
September in Colorado could be 90 degrees at that elevation and the next day could have a foot of snow on the ground. It’s all personal preference but I usually rock a zero all hunting season. Early season it’s open all night and late season I have layers on and zipped up. Shelter is all personal preference. I run the sg 2 man which is light weight and versatile. Can run a light weight setup or full blown winter setup all with the same tent