Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Applying at 11 bonus points Arizona Bull rifle Suggestions? Unit 10

kentuckynet

Hello, ...short notice for help but after applying for 10 years for unit 3a 3c im told to apply for unit 10 (rifle) early season, from friends who elk hunt for 400 class bulls.

Will be applying monday evening so that gives me a little time to receive info from you guys as well.

I have elk hunted colorado with friends and killed a 350 class bull and hunted my entire life of 53 + years. Im aware of the sheer amount of labor involved from the hunt setup, scouting and hopefully after the kill.

Im not familiar with this unit 10 is it easy to hunt..mostly private? Will it be possible for me to have a sucessful good hunt without paying $5000 for a guide?

Im self employed and for the $5000 guide fee i could go out two weeks early and do a lot of scouting for $5000, i wouldnt have made $5000 in those two weeks anyway.

Im also a pilot and could borrow a friends plane a couple of weeks early.

Is this unit hunted off horse back? 4 wheelers? Or compleltly by foot?

Thanks for your input if youre familiar with this unit and the early bull elk rifle season.

mack

I drew the Unit 10 early rifle tag a while back. The hunt is all it is advertised to be.

But, with your points, you are statistically removed from any possibility of drawing that tag. The 10% non-resident quota is filled by guys with far more points than you, thanks to the 20% pass that AZ implemented about four years ago. 20% of the tags go to applicants with the most points. There are a lot of non-residents with 16+ points applying for that tag, and very few of them draw, due to the 10% NR limit being reached so early on these high demand hunts.

Unfortunately, it will be years before you draw that tag. None of the other questions you have are a concern for that early hunt, which is leads to even more demand.

Good luck in the draw.