Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

300 win for Pronghorn

rwbowser

So I’m pretty new to hunting and have only one hunting rifle, but it’s a doozy: Gunwerks Magnus in 300 win, set up to shoot their 208 gr round. It’s a comfortable and accurate rifle, no complaints. But I’ve got my first antelope hunt next year and I fear this setup is a bit overkill. Any factory ammo recommendations? Or do I need to suck it up and buy a second rifle? Thanks!

That rifle will work well if you do your job. A good mono bullet will work perfectly - since they don't fragment you don't get as much meat loss if you are a little on the big side. I suggest a 150 grain TTSX from Barnes. Some like the Nosler and Hornady equivalents and some swear by Hammers. Go double lung and don't bother punching through a shoulder if you can avoid it.

Agree with VikingsGuy. Yes, it's a bit overkill, but as long as you don't punch it through the shoulder, it'll be fine. I mean, it'll be dead if you punch it through the shoulder, obviously, but you'll go from like 35 pounds of recoverable meat to 20, as that round will likely significantly impact both shoulders.

You can pick up a cheap 243 or something in that range that would be a great pronghorn rifle. I think the t/c compass is on sale right now and they are really accurate for the $. What the fellows already said is accurate as far as using the rifle you already have.