Turkey hunting in Kansas.. help.

RUT JUNKEY

Well my best friend and I decided Saturday that we had a free weekend coming up and decided we would drive to Kansas and turkey hunt for a few days. We are wanting to stay as close to Eastern Kansas as possible. I have been pouring over the public places to hunt and found what looks to be some good areas. I'm thinking Jewell county and east of there. I haven't called out there to talk to anyone yet, I wanted to see what some of you were thinking first. Just wondering if anyone has done any hunting in Wasington,Marshall,Nemara, counties? Or have any recomendations for us. We have been hunting turkeys for 30 yrs, but, haven't hunted them in Kansas. . .any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, RJ

I hunted further west of there for the first time last year. They have a great google maps link for their public land wia's on the Kansas game and fish site. If you have not checked that out you should. I am not a kansas expert by any means but from what I do know look for areas that have creek beds. I have heard that early in the year public land gets hit pretty hard. Good luck and have fun.

Rut Junkey.....couple of thoughts for you.

NR hunters of all ages must show proof of Hunter Safety course before purchasing license.

KDWP has online ( http://kdwpt.state.ks.us/news/KDWPT...g-Fishing-Maps-by-County/Spring-Hunting-Atlas ) as well and printed maps of WIHA areas, which are at any sporting goods stores or places to buy licenses.

Turkey permit and tag are not good the day of purchase.

I think that sounds tend to travel further than folks used to hunting hilly woods would believe. I hunt big farm fields with narrow woods/ creek bottoms and am generally underestimating the location of a gobbling bird (I generally could have moved in closer without bumping the birds)