PEAX Equipment

Who has done a diy mountain goat hunt in the lower 48?

Ben Nicholson

I was lucky enough to win the Oregon statewide goat raffle tag. I've talked to a couple folks here on HT from OR and they've been very helpful. But my question is to any of you who have done a diy goat hunt, do you think it's doable for someone from out of state? If you were to do it again would you still go diy or would you hire a guide? I could get out there this summer for some scouting. I hunt out west at least once a year so I have some experience mountain hunting, but zero experience with goats.

Thanks,
Ben

Very doable. Did it in 2021 at 58 years old with a friend and my daughter. Make sure you get your doctor to give you a prescription for altitude sickness. Shot mine at over 12,000 feet in elevation. With the medication I had no altitude sickness. Even with medication my daughter started feeling crappy around 10,500 and had to stay below that. My friend never told me until we finished packing my goat off the mountain in the dark. But he started getting sick on out stalk up to my goat.

Thanks guys. Yes I can get out there for a little bit this summer. Currently my biggest concern (right or wrong) is on judging goats. Any advise/tips on this?

Lots of people do it every year, why not you?
I would reach out to the Oregon WSF guys and I bet you get a lot of really good advice.
Also, if you could make it out to the sheep and goat orientation meeting in the Dalles I think you could make some good contacts.

Lots of people do it every year, why not you?
I would reach out to the Oregon WSF guys and I bet you get a lot of really good advice.
Also, if you could make it out to the sheep and goat orientation meeting in the Dalles I think you could make some good contacts.
I'll be at the orientation meeting for sure. Thanks!