Ultralight Climbers

oxn939

While getting my life together for a public land whitetail effort this year, I noticed the X Stand X-1 climber I've been using for the past 5 or 6 years is starting to show some wear on the cables. Looks like it'll make it through this season, but it's now a 25 yard target to find a replacement. Apparently X Stand is out of business now, and the only other option I can find for an ultralight climbing treestand is to preorder Lone Wolf's soon-to-be offering... for, not kidding, a thousand bucks.

Are there any other options for a lightweight or ultralight climber I'm missing here, or has the world gone the way of climbing sticks and hang ons? I generally try to incorporate a pretty good hike into my hunts to get away from the crowds, so really looking for something under 15 pounds. Thanks in advance for any input!

You can definitely get to that weight with a hang on and sticks but it’ll probably still get you to the $1k mark

You can definitely get to that weight with a hang on and sticks but it’ll probably still get you to the $1k mark

Looool that is wild. I'm a poor grad student and don't see that any time in my future TBH

Switch to a saddle.

Might be the call. I've been trying to resist... but the advantages are convincing. Need to find one of these to test out some time

I don't think that's necessarily accurate.

I don't think that's necessarily accurate.

I have that stand and it works great, there are lighter options available. Never liked those sticks tho

@oxn939 if you are willing to learn how to one stick climb, you can get a hawk helium stick, a rock climbing harness, and an XOP Vanish Evo pretty cheap. Add a couple carabiners, a figure 8, and buy 30' of Sterling Canyon IV 9mm and some accessory cord for prusik knots, so you can rapel down.