MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Starting the long term plan NOW!!

SFC B

If any of ya'll saw my "who am I" post you know that I am fairly new to hunting but am trying to make up for lost time. So far in 6 years I have done WTs, got an elk last year and did goose/upland hunt this year. Since I have started hunting I have always dreamed about a moose hunt. While my fanatasy is an AK/YUK in the wilderness I don't know if that is realistic for me as I don't have any family to go alone as labor..er ah...I am hunting partners :) and I have never been to AK yet. I am looking for thoughts on the best places to DIY considering tag availability and access along with $$$. I will retire from the military in a few years and am planning on this being my present to myself. While I would love to kill a monster, experience and meat are my main goals. I am just not a trophy guy. Thanks for any and all input.

SFC B,

I was lucky enough to do a moose hunt in my home state of MN while there was still a season. I enjoyed it so much that I immediately started looking into how I could do it again someday. Unfortunately moose is a pretty expensive proposition no matter how you look at it. Depending on where you are from, applying out west to do a hunt probably means a lot of money invested in preference points for a shot at possibly drawing a license someday, at which time you will still have an expensive tag to buy.