Shooting tripod or glassing tripod

williaada

Need some help deciding what to carry in on day trips. I have a primos tripod for shooting off of, and then I have a glassing tripod for binos or spotting scope. Should I carry both tripods or is my light weight shooting sticks and leave the primos back at camp?

I only carry the tripod for the spotter/binos, and have used it a few times to shoot off of. I have a V shaped attachment that came off of a shooting stick that attaches to the tripod.

I only carry the tripod for the spotter/binos, and have used it a few times to shoot off of. I have a V shaped attachment that came off of a shooting stick that attaches to the tripod.
That is what I do to. Though unusually just end up ditching the tripod and shoot off my pack. I’m still new to western hunting and after a day or two give up on glassing far ranges and find animals in cover like I do at home.

That is what I do to. Though unusually just end up ditching the tripod and shoot off my pack. I’m still new to western hunting and after a day or two give up on glassing far ranges and find animals in cover like I do at home.
You can buy the V-shaped attachment separately. I have this one, bought at Scheels.

I like the design because it still swivels even when cranked down tight into the mount.

Attachments

• 1696037480401.png
    1696037480401.png
    130.2 KB · Views: 5
You can buy the V-shaped attachment separately. I have this one, bought at Scheels.

I like the design because it still swivels even when cranked down tight into the mount.
I robbed a piece off of a ATV mount, put it on a quick release camera mount and I thought I was a genius; that was years ago. The one you use is even better! I’m gonna look at buying one.

I robbed a piece off of a ATV mount, put it on a quick release camera mount and I thought I was a genius; that was years ago. The one you use is even better! I’m gonna look at buying one.