Saved by the Bull?

LandDiver

A couple scenereo's played out in front of me this past weekend that I'm curious to know what could be the reasoning for it. This is my first September, and I have started hunting last November so I am really new to hunting with a bow. I am not hunting for horns. Just looking to be successful.

Scenereo #1
Heard a bull bugle in the timber so we cut the distance and made sure we had the wind. Bugled and cow called a few times to make sure he was still coming, which he was. At 40 yards he was coming in on the trail I was expecting him to come in on. At 30 yards he would HAVE had an arrow through him. I could hear him breathing, almost like he was having a hard time breathing (that's what it sounded like to me). I could also hear him pissing non stop as he bugled his way closer to where I was set up at. He was walking on the edge of the timber and a meadow. From 40 yards away to 30 yards when I planned to squeeze the release there were pine trees in a row, and only at 30 yards did it open up and allow for broadside shot. Well during that 10 yards of pine trees another bull came up from the draw and pulled him back down with him. Almost like he said, "hey what are you doing? Let's go!" I was left excited, but puzzled as I would have never thought this would happen. Any idea's to what they were thinking?

Scenereo #2