Preseason fitness for easterner

edbentle

Hello all,

First off I am brand new to western hunting; I'm so new I've never even gone on a trip yet. I live in Western NY and love whitetail hunting. i also enjoy backcountry trips in the Rockies. Up until now those trips have just been short backpackers or float trips. I have a fitness routine that includes cardio and some lifting, but even on these short trips I end up having a hard time in high country. Doing a week or more hunt is a little intimidating because I feel I can't adequately train for it in the east. What is a dedicated fitness routine that I could do back east that will get me ready for big country and most importantly on big game?

I grew up in the CO mountains but now live out east. Improving your cardio to enable you to function ok with less oxygen is important. Certainly strength, from a climbing perspective can be important. Whatever routine helps those will work. Make sure you also spend some time climbing with a pack that has a reasonable weight in it. Hard to beat actually hiking to prepare. Once there, you'll always feel a bit off due to the elevation. I find that by day three I feel pretty good.

First off, kudos to wanting to do something now. It is hard to erase years of sins in a month or two.

What works for me? Exercise is part of my daily life. This time of year, my routine is weighted toward cardio. 3-4 days a week. I add in strength training 3-4 months prior to my hunt.

What types of exercises. Running is my go to, but also do stair master and elliptical. For strength, lunges, push-ups, dips, crunches. Pack training is a staple.