New to Hunting --> Looking to Learn

B Bails

Hello All -

First and foremost, I love this platform. Thanks to all who manage this and provide the means for outdoor / hunting enthusiasts to come together and share ideas.

I am pretty new to hunting (2 yrs) and am trying to prepare for a western hunt for Elk in CO, WY, or MT in the next 2 years. I have a lot to learn and hoping this forum can assist.

1) Anyone looking to sell any used gear that is still in good shape? (Camping, Backpacks, or Used apparel) Also, any flash sale websites or forum advice would be great.
2) Is anyone willing to be a mentor and help coach me through the growing pains of learning how to be a DIY public land hunter for elk? I've been watching and listening to Randy Newberg and Hunt Talk podcasts and Steve Rinella - MeatEater, are they're any other good ones you can recommend?
3) How would a guy from WI, who mainly hunts turkey and whitetail, find private land owners who are willing to lease rights to private land hunts?

Any and all feedback / advice is welcome. Excited to learn and get out there!

Bryan

"Is anyone willing to be a mentor and help coach me through the growing pains of learning how to be a DIY public land hunter for elk"?
And
"How would a guy....... find private land owners who are willing to lease rights to private land hunts?

Interesting combination of requests.
Good luck in your endeavors.

Used gear....I believe there is a portion of this forum devoted to selling/buying stuff but I'll admit to never having looked at it. Maybe others can tune you in to what it offers. Craigslist or other local internet sales sites might be an option for you too.

Other media resources....Elk 101 (Idaho's own Corey Jacobsen)......Born And Raised Outdoors.....Hunt Backcountry podcast (EXO Mountain Gear guys).