New to coyote hunting

RyeGuy74

Good evening all,

I am new to coyote hunting, as in I shot my first coyote yesterday afternoon, and I am wondering what advice anyone has that may help me from skinning, to end step, and everything in between. I have permission to hunt as many coyotes that I can from this ranch and I would like to make the most out of hunting coyotes and I know there's much more after the shot that can be done with coyotes. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Check to see if theres a bounty in your area or talk to your taxidermist if you have one. Taxi may want them or know someone who does if your getting a bunch of nice ones.

There’s a giant backlog of unsold pelts at the auction house held over from the previous few years. Plus Russians are typically big buyers, but they’re a little preoccupied…

But, it’s a good time to learn to put them up, if that’s what you want to do, because you won’t be out anything if you mess them up 🤷🏻‍♀️ Get a few tanned.

There’s a giant backlog of unsold pelts at the auction house held over from the previous few years. Plus Russians are typically big buyers, but they’re a little preoccupied…

But, it’s a good time to learn to put them up, if that’s what you want to do, because you won’t be out anything if you mess them up 🤷🏻‍♀️ Get a few tanned.
I wish I knew where all these fur auctions were at, I'm in need a beaver pelt. One of the few pelts I can't get myself in this region of the country.

It depends on the country of course, but wind is king. Don’t bother hunting them if you don’t heed the king, and I mean all the time.

I like to scout stands with about 180 of view with a block behind me. I especially like cliffs that force them come in from the side.

Calling on your own is tough because they will come straight to the call. E-calls are awesome when you can get them at least 100 yards into the wind. I also use a spinning decoy.