Journaling

• Thread starter Deleted member 52847
  • Start date

Do you journal in some form or fashion while hunting?

• Total voters
D

Deleted member 52847

Do you journal while your are hunting and/or scouting? If you don't, would you if you didn't have to carry a physical journal with you but have one on your phone?

As a writer, I journal regularly, but have gaps that last several years. Honestly, I think it's the deadliest habit I have -- what dates were elk bugling, trout biting what flies, when were grayling or perch spawning, bears eating grass on what slopes in the spring? My memory sucks but it's great to settle arguments with myself. Honestly the most fun I had was a few years ago when I hunted with a childhood hunting buddy. I dug up journals dating back 40 years, including his first deer with a bow when we were teenagers. Those notes take you directly back. So many outings that were foggy or lost in my memory. So much I learned over the years. Besides a journal I also keep an Excel spreadsheet of every big game kill and many of the misses as well. (A more honest journalist would keep a spreadsheet of all shots taken.) My friend Gary Sloan was in on more than 100 elk kills and had detailed notes of every one of them What a treasure trove!