Nephew Perma’s 100 Day Challenge

perma

I thought I would shake things up a bit this year by doing my hunt journal and intermix it with my New Year’s resolution of spending 100 days outdoors this year either. I’m chalking up credit for target shooting, hunting, fishing, hiking, conservation work, etc. While I’m at it, I’ll still keep score of what I’m hunting.

For a fun twist this year, my wife has also verbally committed to doing a backcountry fishing trip in the Snowies. More to come on that, once I figure out what the hell to do.

The goal this year is to bag a turkey and bag an elk. I still have yet to notch those tags even though I had great success and chances last year. That’s my focus for this year. If I get a deer and pronghorn tag, I’ll hunt those too. Also, this is my first year of WY residency of applying. So even if I don’t draw the one I applied for, I still got a general tag. I just hope what I put in for pans out. I just need one on the board….

Sweet rifle pics to be included. Hopefully one of those is after a connected shot at a bull.

Oh yeah, going black bear hunting for the first time too. I saw one fat bear when I was archery deer hunting last year. I’m gonna go find him.

Here’s to another season of firsts!

WY spring turkey - ?
WY spring black bear - ?
WY elk - ?
WY deer - ?
WY mountain lion - ?
CO elk - ?

Last edited:
As a WY resident, the world is your oyster. The general elk tag is really good, especially if you have the drive to put in some time which it sounds like you do. Good luck!

As a WY resident, the world is your oyster. The general elk tag is really good, especially if you have the drive to put in some time which it sounds like you do. Good luck!
At this point, yeah I’m ready to do something dumb. Let’s see if the draw prevents that part of the process though, or at least numbs the dumb a little.

I havent been very loyal on updating but there’s not much to update.