PEAX Equipment

Hunt type

I am no expert by any means, but type 1 is any sex, and type 2 is doe only,... I think. There is also a type for the 2nd season, I can't remember the number, maybe 6?

I don't think there is really any difference between a type 1 and type 2, other than a different season and/or area. Maybe this will help:

Difference Between Full Price Antlerless License
and a Reduced Price License
Price is the difference. A full price license is required if the applicant wishes to hunt an antlered animal. However, if the applicant only wishes to hunt an antlerless animal, it may be beneficial to determine if an area offers a reduced price license. Full price licenses include types 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9 and 0. Reduced price licenses are types 6, 7 and 8. Reduced price licenses are offered to encourage additional harvest in areas where populations are above management objective. When determining whether to apply for a full price license or a reduced price license, the applicant should evaluate what type of animal they wish to hunt.

Looks like harder to draw a tag this year. We didnt draw last year ( game and fish told us should be a sure draw on units we chose) so im wondering if we filled application wrong. Maybe just bad luck.

Those season types can vary, depending upon the unit. Download the PDF file at this link, and it will give you an explanation of each hunt TYPE, by unit.

http://wgfd.wyo.gov/web2011/hunting-1001119.aspx

In some areas, a Type 2 is a later season. Type 9 is usually archery. Type 6 is usually antlerless. But, that can vary by unit, so go with the information at the link above.

I was under the impression that a type 9 is ALWAYS archery and a type 6 is ALWAYS antlerless (or doe/calf actually is what the WGFD calls it.) But I could be wrong, I'm just in the early stages of researching my first Wyoming hunt.

I'll do some digging and try to come up with a PDF that actually spells out what the different types are.