Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Elk Behavior?

renomike

Hello everyone. I figured I can tap into everyone else's vast experience. I am new to elk hunting and drew an archery cow tag for northeastern Nevada this year. The hunt starts at the beginning of August. I have never gone hunting this early in the year and know that it will be very hot out. I am wondering if anyone can give me an overview and insight on elk behavior during the summer months. Highland vs lowland. grouped vs individuals. Good places to look for to hunt. Lastly are they covering large amounts of ground during that time or staying in a general area, meaning if I go scouting a month before can i expect them to still be around. Thank you and any information and opinions will be greatly appreciated.
Mike

Can't speak for Nevada specifically, but up here where I guide, early season elk hang out near water. Find a water source and sit on it in the evenings...DOWNWIND.

August 1 is awful hot for elk hunting in NV. Sit water and have preparations ready to have your animal cooled and processed quickly. If you're inexperienced, possibly have a guy or 2 with you that can help break the animal down pretty quick if you get one.

Good luck and let us know how you did. Several of us here will be in the area for the archery bull hunt right after you. I know I'm concerned with the heat and will be taking a couple big marine coolers with me to keep my bounty cool after I put the smack down. :)