Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Cursed rifle shooter here

BananaPudding

Hey folks!

I'm pretty new to the hunting scene and I've been using rifles because I'm pretty comfortable and competent with them. For a few reasons, I've considered getting into archery, but I have some doubts. From what I've seen, bowhunters are more willing than JWs to talk to unbelievers, so I was hoping y'all could help me out. =D

Background: My ultimate goal is a bull elk hunt, but until then it'll be whitetails and feral hogs.

1) If I bought all used equipment, how much money are we talking to get a solid bow hunting setup? I don't want stuff that I'll want to upgrade ASAP, but I also don't want to pay for more than I'll be able to appreciate.

2) Like I said, I'm comfortable with rifles. Will this translate to shooting a bow? How much practice and time will it take before I'm competent enough to shoot a hog at 25 yards? For context, I'd have to be self-coached because I can't afford to hire someone and none of my bowhunter friends live near me.

3) I'm kinda a bad hunter and I have limited experience and opportunities. Bowhunting is a lot less forgiving than rifle hunting, so should I probably get better at rifle hunting first?

Thanks ahead of time for any advice y'all have!

Welcome aboard!

1. You can PROBABLY get set up for $250 or so going used if you look around. May be different in Texas.

2. Not too much like rifle. Your time involved until hunting depends on your practice regimen as well as the area you will hunt. Thick cover keeping your shots close will differ from open areas where your targets can see you move.

3. No reason you can't learn how to shoot a bow and still go rifle hunting. Do what you like and keep practicing! Both!

Last edited: