Co first rifle gmu24 report

huntfishcamp

Just got back from first DIY gmu 24 CO season 1 rifle. We took one bull, over 2' of snow in 5 days. I had a 40yrd shot at a decent bull, broadside, firing pin froze and barely dented the primer. lots of learning but lots of fun, cannot wait to do it all over again!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 632
Congrats, it's great to see all of the smiles. Crazy that it was cold enough to freeze up your firing pin, it's still tee shirt weather here in AZ, at least during the day... Maybe use graphite instead of regular gun oil? Did the snow just manage to penetrate to the internals of the bolt? I have zero experience hunting where it's truly cold, and I'd rather not learn that lesson first-hand...

Did you see many elk? If so what elevation. We went out sat and today and saw a lot of hunters and a couple cows on a south facing uncovered hill at Indian creek. Good bit of snow from 10k-11k Still have a week left so were looking for the elk. In town for the night.

What elevation were these bulls hanging out at? I've got a third season bull tag and I'm trying to decide whether to go high, or stay at the drainage bottoms because of the snow.

sounds like you guys had a great time. thats what its all about. nice bull you guys took, to bad about your firing pin. Ive been in some pretty cold weather and I'll use some dry graphite spray but just a real light coat. Seems to work pretty well. Ive also used this stuff called kroil and its some pretty good stuff.
Congats again on your bull

Bulls we saw were 10k feet and up, we got to peaks almost 11k feet and saw lots of sign, snow depth didnt seem to stop them. We talked to others lower who said the elk were herded up and lots of them, 8k foot range. We just decided to hunt what we scouted, maybe could have done better lower, who knows. All in all a good time minus the firing pin issue!