Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Arizona Elk Application

Kiwi

I've had some excellent help from hunttalkers over the last few years and try to limit my requests to help as I dont want to out stay my welcome! But if someone would be able to help with my sons AZ application that would be greatly appreciated. I've been to all western states except AZ and NM so its new territory for me.

I've been applying for elk in Arizona for my son the past seven years. I've applied in the very hard to draw units not expecting to draw but knowing if my son did draw it would be a great hunt.

But next year I would like to apply in a unit that has better odds with the 7 points my son now has and I have been researching on gohunt. But it seems like the easier to draw units come with warnings which I find confusing as the harvest stats look decent. Not sure if I should keep building a few more points.

Anyway, if anyone can help it would be great to hear from you. Suggest that a PM would be best.

As always happy to help anyone looking at hunting New Zealand.

Edit: I updated the wording re points.

Last edited:
He's 15 years old, so eligible for youth tags. I haven't looked into these tags, so thanks!

AZ elk is really a great hunt in many units. I would look at late rifle. Some of the easier draw units have limited elk and access to small pockets of private property make a world of difference for success. There are very few real hidden hunts in AZ.

Go hunt when reporting points and odds isn't squaring them. So your son has 2 points when looking at gohunt odds for having applied for 2 years. Right? Someone else would need to confirm

Kiwi,