Youth hunter motivation?

bennett454

Hey guys,

I moved west in 2022 living in Utah the past 2 years. We chose not to become Utah residents cough: my wife didn’t want to pay taxes to a certain majority group cough:. So I’m a Pennsylvania resident living in Utah paying non resident fees in all surrounding states as well as where I am local (just bear in mind). My son is 11 will be 12 next fall. He has been a struggle for me to get hunting. Specifically if it could be hard (my preferred hunting style is tough to reach places). He enjoyed turkey hunting & I think he would enjoy antelope or open country deer hunts. I find it difficult to bite the bullet on nonresident fees for him when it’s tough to motivate him to go aka: local hunts in Utah are full priced for him.

That in mind I look at western Colorado and Western Wyoming (type 6 licenses which currently are lacking options on the west side of the state). The two questions that come to mind; how do I find the middle ground? Looking for truck style lazy hunts have tougher draw odds and or I struggle to know how to hunt from a road(my mindset is get away from hunters aka trails/roads). How do I make hunts that require some toughness more fun?

This year he drew a deer tag in Az and I chose to eat it. Mostly because he didn’t seem interested at least not enough for me to burn vacation time and fuel for a 10hr drive. I’ve tried small game as well with similar poor results (he has yet to pull the trigger). Though he did utter the word fun on a recent duck hunt.

Suggestions? Experiences?

Finding different tags doesn’t seem like it’s going to fix the issue, just doesn’t seem like the kid is into it. I’d ask him about a pronghorn hunt. If he doesn’t get fired up about it, don’t force it and leave it alone for a year or two. He’ll come around eventually.

- The kid

Bottom line is if he doesn't want to hunt you can't make him like it.