Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Why I change my own oil

My local one was notorious for leaving my drain plug slightly loose on my work truck. They even told me the leak was a cracked oil pan, when the dealer when to replace the pan they just tightened the plug and sent me on my way

Last edited:
As a young driver I used Jiffy Lube once. The tech came out and told me in addition to my oil change I needed to have my automatic transmission fluid changed as well. I thought it was strange considering my truck was a manual. Have been changing my own oil ever since.
And look at how black that transmission oil was. Guy was just trying to save you a costly repair.

They’re the “Home Depot” of “mechanics.” Yeah, I know that’s a lot of quotation marks. Almost no expertise, and garbage materials unless you pay up. I did it once, and the cost was insane due to wanting a quality synthetic oil.

I think their $19 oil change takes the used oil, and runs it through an old coffee filter.

I want a quality oil, filter and no up-sell BS. I do it myself, have money for beer, and today’s world declares me a MAN!!!