Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Whitetail shanks

BillDoe708

I kept the shank meat separate from the whitetail does I shot this fall. What is everyone's favorite way to cook them?

Couple other threads on this already. I've done several things with them. Just a few days ago I did a couple in the slow cooker and shredded them and used the broth to make venison vegetable soup.

I’ve never had them a bad way. I like to braise them with onions and mushrooms. thicken the liquid to make a gravy. Serve it over some mashed potatoes.

A crock pot will work, but cast iron Dutch oven does take it up a notch.

I like to cut the bone to expose marrow before braising. It adds to that buttery gooey rich goodness.

Do you just a simple brine? I’ve never used a brine on shanks before, but it can’t hurt!
Exactly! Cant hurt. Simple brine works fine. I usually add matching herbs and spices to whatever dish Im cooking. For shanks - salt, onion/garlic powder, pepper at a minimum. Herbs I add could be parsley, thyme, or rosemary. Im becoming obsessed with the brine/smoke/braise combo.

I've used Hank's and another very similar recipe, very tasty. I've done them both bone in whole and sawed into chunks. I vastly prefer exposing the marrow for it to melt into the braising liquid. If not cutting bone I'd just debone and crock-pot them personally, then shred and crisp carnitas style.

I de-boned the shanks from my blacktail and just cooked it in the instant pot. It tasted just like roast beef, and shredded extremely easily. I used it to make tacos, and used the broth to make French onion soup.

I’ve never had them a bad way. I like to braise them with onions and mushrooms. thicken the liquid to make a gravy. Serve it over some mashed potatoes.

I like to cut the bone to expose marrow before braising. It adds to that buttery gooey rich goodness.
Damnit @Gellar you got me all misty eyed reading that.