Caribou Gear Tarp

Tips on taking youth hunting

Ohboytimmy

I am planning to take my 12 year old nephew out rifle whitetail hunting. It will be a four day trip during Minnesota's Youth/early antler-less season. The kid likes loves to fish but haven't done much outdoors than that. The only hunting influences he has ever had is me. Being the only hunter in the family. I am a self taught bow hunter starting 8 years ago. Primary bow hunted white tails, got into grouse hunting, duck hunting, small game and most recently back country elk hunts.

I want to be a good lifetime mentor to the kid as I never had a one throughout my journey. I realize how beneficial it is to have someone talk to you about all the emotions and concerns when it comes to hunting on the field. I believe hunter recruitment and retention is an issue that will get worse over generations. I would like to start a hunting tradition in my family as it seems the bread an butter of hunter population develop from adults passing the skills onto the youngsters.

He has his firearms safety certificate but I plan to take him to the 100 yard long range a few Sundays so he gets comfortable and familiar with shooting.

The first day we will camp out on state forest and still hunt in the morning and evening. If no harvest is made we will stay at my mothers small farm in Northwest MN an hour away and hunt some private and close by WMA. I'd be surprised if we didn't get into deer.

I just want to make sure the kid has the best experience as possible.
What are your tips or advice on taking youth out hunting?

My main goals
  1. Firearm safety, Hunting Safety in general
  2. Briefly get into how hunting and wildlife conservation works. Hunter values and public portrayals
  3. Just make sure to always have fun (experience the outdoors and being together)