MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

The Struggles of the Newbie... Advice Please

Wisco

Hey guys, as a newbie, I'm trying to figure out as much for my first elk hunt this fall as I can. So I'm sure you'll see me asking for advice a few times over the next couple months. I think I've got most of the basic application strategy and what not figured out so far. So now I'm starting to think about gear... In order to know what gear I want, I need to know what it's going to be like out there.

Background: Throwing a group application in for NM archery (second season) and if we come up unsuccessful, we'll go CO OTC archery around the same time (Sept 15-24th ish). I'm a WI whitetail hunter used to sitting through hours of wind, snow, and cold so most of my good apparel is on the heavier side.

1) What will the weather be like during this season in the mountains (besides the obvious answer of unpredictable)? Should I look to upgrade my gear for lightweight wind/rain gear (as in, will that be what I will likely use the majority of the time)? Should I expect it to be cold enough I'll heavily rely on my cold gear and not worry about the quality of my wind/rain gear as I'll be using it less. Obviously I'll bring it all, but what would I expect most of my use to come from? And what do you guys like to use?

2) I'm used to being meticulous about sound coming in and out of the woods, but is that as necessary in the elk woods? I can't imagine being able to stumble through the mountains in the dark quietly. So how do you guys do it?

Sorry, these questions come off kinda random, but they keep me awake at night... lol

Thanks!

I'll attempt to answer your questions in a general way:

1. You can do some internet searches for weather during the time frame. You could also call local guides and sporting good shops in the area to get a more dialed in answer. But, in essence, you answered your own question with take it all and deal with it when you get there.