Red Stag

As a resident I haven't been through the process but there is paperwork, travel requirements for the case, you need a named 'sponsor' in NZ and a safe place to keep the rifle when not using it.

Unfortunately the NZ government has just kicked off building a gun registry. But of course once there is a government change it will be cancelled too.
Thank you for informing us all abut about these restrictions. Do you know if NZ Customs would process muzzleloader guns differently? I found the NZ visitors section in the Arms Code. Says we need a visitors firearms license as well as an import permit. And we ought to bring all certificates from home country to prove we’re legitimate. NZ actually states “bona fide shooter”.

Thank you for informing us all abut about these restrictions. Do you know if NZ Customs would process muzzleloader guns differently? I found the NZ visitors section in the Arms Code. Says we need a visitors firearms license as well as an import permit. And we ought to bring all certificates from home country to prove we’re legitimate. NZ actually states “bona fide shooter”.
I would say muzzleloader would be treated the same as a rifle. Muzzleloaders are very uncommon here and the police / immigration will probably default to rifle rules. I have been told by Air NZ that my bow is a weapon and need the rifle paperwork!

The rules are there to keep firearms out. Even I need an import license when I return with my own rifle that I took with me.

The good news if you hunt with a NZ'er you can use their gun, with them, without any paperwork as far as I know.

Yeah, same for me. USA side is fine, NZ side is a pain. I might regret it but I plan to take my rifle over to USA next year.