Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Recreation without Consequences?

Thanks neffa3. I posted this on my FB page as well.

I suspect that "overlanding" and off-pavement motorcycling also negatively affect wildlife. And wildlife photography.. As a photographer I try to minimize my impact on wildlife, but I know that birds and wildlife have fled time to time when I've been photographing them.

Regards, Guy

Thanks neffa3. I posted this on my FB page as well.

I suspect that "overlanding" and off-pavement motorcycling also negatively affect wildlife. And wildlife photography.. As a photographer I try to minimize my impact on wildlife, but I know that birds and wildlife have fled time to time when I've been photographing them.

Regards, Guy
They absolutely do, I think those impacts are both bigger and also better defined, versus non-motorized recreation which has often been thought of, and called, non-consumptive, when in reality the impacts are still there, still tangible, though smaller. Death by a thousand cuts and all.

It's a struggle to find a "use" of nature that doesn't impact it to some regard.

Thanks neffa3 for posting the whole article, I'm one of those guys.
I do agree with the thought process on this topic, people are everywhere all the time.
But man, I do not know if my rear view mirror - dashboard has the room for another permit. Got a discover pass for state land, a permit called Skidmore for some of the private timberland in my area, and a Lewis and Clark permit for some of the other forestland. Not counting the two permits I did not get because I'm too damn slow on the computer!
A regular permit party on my dashboard. Sorry for the diversion from your topic.

Thanks for sharing Neffa. My ability to think robustly on this topic is pretty poor anymore, as I almost have a burnout about worrying about it locally - geographies getting used to death. That said, some things I think: