Reading a topo map

Muskeez

Total Newbie from the midwest here... so some of my questions over the next few months may seem totally stupid to some of you, but here goes:

Going on my first ever Western big game hunt this fall. 0 points in any states. 45 years old and finally decided I HAVE to do this! Trying to pick an OTC unit to archery hunt elk in CO, unless something else totally falls in my lap in the next couple months. For now, choosing a unit or 2 to hunt is incredibly overwhelming. (i know Cush, there's no elk in CO :rolleyes: )

So, anyway, when I look at the topo maps, what should I be looking for? What type of areas hold elk in September? What do the best drainages look like? What does a "bench" look like on a topo map? After many years of experience, I can read a lake map and find some of the best fish holding structure in a lake. Can you do something similar with a topo map for elk? There has to be certain areas that you experienced elk hunters see on a map and say to yourself "I'd bet $100 there's an elk right there!"

Maybe I'm totally nuts, but there has to be more to it than simply striking out, a long ways from the roads, and walking every drainage, meadow, bench and treeline until you happen to find some elk??

Thanks for any advise for the greenhorn!
-Clayton

Last edited:
Muskeez, hope your hunt comes together for you. Here's my 2 cents worth.

Despite what Cush says there are still a couple elk roaming around in CO.

Since an early bow hunt is what you mentioned, locate water. lts not just everywhere in the mountains.

In the early seasons I seem to find more elk on north facing slopes,They tend to be cooler,the forage is usually better,still gotta have cover,water,Ect.(just a suggestion not an absolute)