NW Colorado 1st Rifle Elk Help

CodyN

I drew a 1st Rifle tag for the first time! The units that I'll be able to hunt this Oct. are 11, 211, 12, 13,131, 231, 23, 24, 25, 33, 34. As of right now i have a few spots that look good around the 12/23/24 area, but access looks like an issue. I've been hunting for about 5 years now, and have gotten one bull. This is my first hunt without my 'teacher' and I have not hunted in this area before. Pretty much I am just asking for decent areas to look at, because right now I'm having a sensory overload trying to take in the entire area that i can hunt. I will have a camper trailer and my F-150 as far as access goes, no quads or horses (cant afford to rent). I have taken off work from Oct 10th-16th (season is 11th-15th) so i am geared up and ready to go! Just trying to pin point where exactly.

Thanks for your input!:)

This is a pretty tall order to fill. I am guessing you are going to hear crickets with an open ended request like this.

You might start with reviewing the harvest statistics of all of these units; contact the local biologist and warden, to find out where there are concentrations of elk on public during your season and what the access looks like; get some maps and try and find areas with at least 4+ square miles of unroaded habitat that gives the elk access to water, food, cover without having to get within a mile of a road; Also make sure you understand how the elk are going to react to different weather and hunting preasure; try and find a spot that doesn't provide the elk an easy escape to private land as soon as the rounds start going off; look for areas that could be escape routes for fleeing elk and try and position yourself there opening morning.

Lastly, you are more likely to find help if you already have a plan, and you want to validate some of your assumptions.

PS: post a pic of the bull you got, everyone here likes a hero pic, even raghorns!

Good luck!

Pic / Thanks