Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

North Texas Deer

sotherncoloradoguy

Hay guys i hope every1 drew a good tag this year, but if your like me you didnt... so iam here ask a few questians about a place i am gunna try this year. i am gunna hunt north texas. does any 1 have any type of info on public land arround lubbock and nortn to oklahoma. i am currently studying rita blanca nat forrest. i am also wondering about what type of deer mule/wt are there and a guess at population. by no means am i after a200+ deer just after the theill of the hunt.... but ill take one if i see em. if any one has any info for me please get at me

Public land up there is tough. I'd go to the Texas Parks and Wildlife website and search for the public land hunts on WMA's. There are a few up there, but they are a draw also. I'd recommend Gene Howe for a chance at a big whitetail. I'm not sure what mule deer opportunities are available on WMA's.

correct. Wildlife Management Areas. I'd check the site and if you're really interested in mule deer see if they are having hunts on the Matador or Caprock Canyons State Parks. Matador can be real good for both muleys and whitetails.

Colorado Guy...Texas is quite sparse in public land. If you are looking for a quality Whitetail on public you will likely be very upset with what you find. The public draw hunts are an option but the odds of drawing a tag in a good area will be a long shot. I agree with wyoming556 that OK will give you more public to access and better deer than TX. The best option I can offer would be NE. OTC tags, good deer and relatively low pressure.