non trophy elk

old man

For those of you that are only looking to harvest any elk. what do you look for in deciding what state or unit you want to hunt? Also what makes you pick a certain season? if you are hunting alone do you have people to help hall out the meat?

:) (if you are old and gray like me)

I just buy left-over cow permits in Wyoming. I can go hunting every year. I hunt alone and haul the meat out by myself. And yes, I am old and gray and will keep doing it as long as I can.:)

Im not old and grey but When it comes to filling the freezer I will take easy all day long. I buy a couple left over cow permits in wy and wait for a good snow then I go Double down on a couple cows, quarter them and throw them in my jet sled and walk out. PS I usually wait until I find them bedded and sunning on a ridge on the up hill side of the road :) might have to walk a mile but I have been doing that for the last several years.

I just buy left-over cow permits in Wyoming. I can go hunting every year. I hunt alone and haul the meat out by myself. And yes, I am old and gray and will keep doing it as long as I can.:)

^^^ same here. I go over thanksgiving as it is most convenient for my schedule

Im not old and grey but When it comes to filling the freezer I will take easy all day long. I buy a couple left over cow permits in wy and wait for a good snow then I go Double down on a couple cows, quarter them and throw them in my jet sled and walk out. PS I usually wait until I find them bedded and sunning on a ridge on the up hill side of the road :) might have to walk a mile but I have been doing that for the last several years.

Only a mile!!:D Mine are usually more like two gps miles from the truck. Good job. I guess I need to change my strategy or something.:rolleyes:

I like this plan....

Only a mile!!:D Mine are usually more like two gps miles from the truck. Good job. I guess I need to change my strategy or something.:rolleyes: