Newbie thinking about reloading

heiner39

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to rifle hunting this season and after taking my first whitetail I'm hooked. I've been talking to a couple guys about reloading and I'm considering trying it out with the only problem being I really don't have a clue how to get started. I did look at the Lee Anniversary kit and find it to my liking (due to low price for my trial of this potential addiction). Can anyone tell me what I should do/where I should look for good info on how to get started?

Check out RCBS's stuff. I use and like Lee dies also.
You're right, it's a potential addiction. I would only consider reloading if 1) You plan on shooting A LOT (50-100 rounds a month), or 2) want to improve your rifle's accuracy and like to tinker a lot.
Like a lot of guys, I get bored with standard performing products and try to perfect things. Sometimes you can work wonders by reloading... sometimes it's the same old stuff. It REALLY pays off after your first 1/2 inch group with a rifle that would only spit out lousy 4 inchers at 100 yards.
Is it any cheaper? Can't say, because I'm willing to spend a little more in order to improve things beyond their standard. I'll spend the money if it's worth it.
If you only want to pop a buck or two a year, I'd just experiment with different brands, bullet weigths and loads. That can be expensive enough.
I'll admit it, there's a certain satisfaction I get when I kill a buck using my own personal handloads, as opposed to wacking him with something I bought from a factory. It's a little more personal, I guess.
Another thing; once other shooters know you've got bullets, powder, dies and a press, they'll be lining up outside your door for you to do their reloading. Usually these folks are broke and you never get reimbursed -sucks for you- and for me.