Newbie question here

Bucksnort31

So I am new to this whole big three biz. But I only got eyes on one! I have recently begun exploring what it would take to get after a big horn sheep, and I am shocked and how freaking WILD it is!!! What's the deal? I love conservation, I am a hunter, but it looks like my venture is going to take a while just to get a tag.

So my newbie question if you gents would enlighten me is... which of all the lower 48 states is the most cost effective for the application process? How I see it is (and please correct me if I am wrong) but being a NR I have to flip $2000+ just to apply in Colorado? I know you get it back after some time, but still, that's some cash. Montana is non-refundable and $85... again, if I am correct. Now Montana is cool with me, but Colorado seems ridiculous. And in all honesty I am assuming I am probably missing something.

So any insight you guys have on this topic of the financials for just applying is appreciated! I will continue to dig, but I appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

Thanks fellas, and any ladies that might be out there!

It's like playing the lottery. I would love nothing more than to hunt bighorn sheep, but the odds are so bad as a NR that I don't even try. Not trying to discourage you. I wish you the best of luck.

The states where you have to loan out $1k-2k have way better odds than those where you just pay a small fee by an order of magnitude. Idaho Mountain Goat is about is as good of a NR sheep/goat hunt as you will find if you are starting in now as they don't have points at around 2% draw odds.

If you want to hunt moose then AK or Canada can be done more or less whenever you want. MT ewe tags are can be had within a few years of applying and NM is the same way but the tag costs are through the roof.

I think the going rate is around 8-10k for a guided mountain goat hunt in AK and about 18K+ for a guided sheep hunt.