Moose Units for Final Year As Resident

• Thread starter Deleted member 28227
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 28227

Hoping I can get some advice from the Hunt Talk community. I'm a Montana resident moving out of state winter of 2016, as my wife is starting medical school. As it is my last season as a resident I want to try and apply for Moose, Sheep and Goats. I'm looking on advice on Unit choice where I will have the best odds of drawing and still being able to locate an animal. Trophy size is not factor, and as I would consider any of these animals a trophy in and of themselves I would even take a Cow/Ewe tag. Because of this I'm ruling out the unlimited Sheep units as getting an animal is pretty darn tough to do with out a ton of time and experience.
Also yes I realize that at best I can probably expect 1%-2% draw odds, but maybe I'm overlooking something.

I greatly appreciate any advice!!!

-Will

look at the draw odds from the previous year in the regulations, there are several districts with better than average draw odds for moose in the NW part of the state, and 313 (I think) for goat has the best draw odds in the state as well.

Move and keep putting in, your odds actually go up when you get in the non resident pool and what you are going to pay for a non resident moose tag/hunt is still way cheaper than going to Canada or AK. Especially if you have a few points, I wouldn't give up on hunting moose in Wyoming.

Move and keep putting in, your odds actually go up when you get in the non resident pool and what you are going to pay for a non resident moose tag/hunt is still way cheaper than going to Canada or AK. Especially if you have a few points, I wouldn't give up on hunting moose in Wyoming.

Your odds most certainly do not go up when you become a non-resident.