Caribou Gear Tarp

Locating public land

Ben_BlueOx

Hey, I’m not sure if this is the right spot for this, so hopefully I am asking the right crowd.

I’m new to hunting, now live in Illinois and grew up in England, so public/private and everything in between hasn’t been something I have come up across before.

so first, I downloaded the On-X app. How do I use the app to locate public hunting land (right now I only have the free setup) do I need to have the paid subscription to see this or is there an icon I’m missing or something?

secondly, is there a good resource for getting public land maps and info on where to go?

thanks, any info is great info.

You need the paid version of onx for the property layers. Check out all of Randy’s videos on how to use onx, after all that you will be ready to figure out your given area. Most of them refer to elk but the skills learned can transfer to other species.

Most counties have an interactive tax parcel map you can access online. Can be very useful.

Here’s some listings for IL. Many state game and fish agencies have a list like this, an interactive hunting atlas with public land highlighted, or a digital book with map pages showing public ground. OnX is better for property lines, trails, and access points for public spots you’ve already identified.