Knife Sharpeners

Bowhuntrben

I was wondering if anybody has any recommendations for good knife sharpeners? I've used a stone with mixed results and looking for something dummy-proof that can give me more consistent good results.

Been using a Lanski for probably 20 years. Never needed to look for something else.

Do a google search on the harbor freight 1 inch belt sander. I am not a great knife sharpener and was looking for a solution. I started doing searches and came across a lot of people using that. Get some fine grit belts for it and a leather belt with some honing compound. It gets them scary sharp. I had so much fun the first time I was using it and watching blades melt through paper that I sharpened every blade in my house. I was left with a nice pile of confetti on my garage floor afterward. Sharpened 4 of our kitchen knives with it today in about 3 minutes total. I am no knife expert, I just like them sharp, and this does it. I also switched to some basic paring knives for my butchering, as I am not concerned about wearing them out.

It took me a lot of years and more than a few knife blades to figure out how to use a stone and oil. I have it down now and will stick with it. Trying to teach my boys so they can pass it on to their kids someday.

Learned many years ago how to sharpen a blade on stones,any blade,any angle.
I do carry light folding diamonds in my pack for touch up in field.
Every winter I resharpen all my knives before storing and then work on tool blades as I need.
Oil stones & water stones.
I do like the small Gerber ceramic sharpeners that weigh nothing and fit in your pocket too.

Power sharpeners are good for burning up a blade, if you are not extremely careful. There are times when field sharpening is necessary and that takes them out also.