Kinda live Mississippi deer tracking thread

jwatts

I've mentioned on here a few times about using my dog to blood trail deer. There seemed to be some interest in the subject, so I figured I would put together a thread about my tracking season for 2023-2024.

A little background info. I have been tracking for the public since 2015. I started with a German Shepherd. I quickly figured out that, while she is a great blood dog, she's a little too protective of me to track for the public. Off-lead she would leave the track, and get between me and the hunter. I'm not too big on running on-lead, so I went a different route. I still track with her in situations where a leash is required (urban tracks, tracks near major highways, etc), but for the most part she's just a general house dog these days.

I picked up a female GSP back in 2014. She was almost 2 years old when we got her. She was being fostered by a guy in Texas and seemed to be a good fit for us. Once she was adjusted to the family, I started taking her to the woods. She was a natural on quail. Turns out she was a natural on deer as well. I ran her (Maggie) with my GSD (Aubrey) some, then went to tracking with Maggie solo. Over the past few years it seemed that she couldn't come across a barbed wire fence without needing stitches. It got to the point that my vet told me to stitch or staple her myself and call him for antibiotics. This past summer she needed an ACL replacement, so now she's retired.