Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

How much $$ is "enough"?

hansontyrel

Let me start by saying I'm not even sure if this was the best place to make this thread or not. Next, I'll give you some background. I'm a 26-year-old Afghanistan veteran who now works as a police officer. I love hunting, camping, fly fishing, backpacking, Harley Davidsons, and so on. You get the point. I make a decent amount of money, more than I ever thought I'd make with my last-minute college career choice after returning from overseas.

My shift partner is also an avid outdoorsmen and we got to the 0300 cup of coffee going and began the never-ending "money" talk. "What would you do with a million dollars?". Everyone knows that routine. Well, we both decided with "just a little more", we'd be able to hunt wherever, whenever and whatever we wanted. We each gross in the mid-50k range. After student loans, wives, babies, and our hobbies we finally had a realization that we needed more to do the hunts we wanted each year. We both decided that we aren't talking $20,000-$30,000 trips to Africa but would like to do an elk hunt, deer hunt, etc each year and not be divorced or broke, or both. So, in your opinions, how much is enough for you to do the hunts you want each year? Do you sacrifice other hobbies for hunting? Do you give up the new pickup every 2-3 years and drive a 99.5 7.3 Powerstroke (seriously, I do) so you can afford points and tags each year? Do you go on one big hunt every 5 years (Alaska bear *expensive*) or do you prefer to do the close-to-home trips and hunt more frequently?

Now, if this doesn't make sense and I'm just rambling let me know. It's 0345 here and I'm honestly exhausted. Time to put the keyboard away.