Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

grizz protection, sidearm or pepper spray ?

schmalts

What would you use if you were on a backpack spike camp type of hunt? a light sidearm or pepper spray?
If sidearm, do you think .357 is enough??
Let the debate begin...

Supposedly out of the tests I have seen over the last four years, 1 out of 20 bears aren't affected by the spray.

I don't know what the exact reasoning why, they didn't state in the findings.

If you want to be double sure, carry both... :)

The .357 is better than a stick. I would probably count on the pepper spray to be more effective.

But I have no personal experience, having tried neither one on an attacking grizzly.

I"m reminded of the old tale about how to tell black bear scat from grizzily bear scat. Something about griz scat smelling like pepper spray and having bear bells in it.

If you are going to choose to carry a handgun, I would certainly carry something heavier than a .357. Unless you have a partner. Then all you need is a 22. Shoot your partner in the leg, then run like hell.

I think real pepper spray would be better. Mace even better yet.

:cool:

Apparently there are some griz in Wisc? ;)

I need to talk to you about speed goats one of these days, sorry, I have been pretty busy. I don't think there are archery tags available anymore. :(

I try to hunt only with old fat guys and pour any left over grease from camp directly onto their boots...as a waterproofing aide of course.

Have never found bears to be much of a problem when staying with this program!