First time hunter

radarman

Hi all. I am just getting into hunting (I know late start). I am really looking forward to this years duck season. I have been to the skeet range so much this year I may have to have reconstructive surgery on my shoulder:D. Not that great of a shot but the tail feathers of all the ducks in my area better watch out.:D:D What I was wondering if i could get some advice on gear. I have a Benelli M2, 48 decoys (36 mallards w/hens 12 pintails w/ hen). I just don't have that much info on other gear like calls for beginners, waders, packs, etc. All i ever get out of anyone is it is a personal choice. With no idea i have nothing to make a personal choice. I just need some help and was hoping you all would help. Any other advice is appreciated as well.

Welcome to the expensive world of getting hooked on quack!
You have plenty of decoys...set the Sprigs in more open water, maybe put a greenhead or two with them...maybe even put a bull sprig with the mallard set.
For suck azz mud conditions,, I use sock foot waders with just above ankle wading boots---Cabelas has them. I use LaCrosse boot foot, 5mil armoured for firmer gound and colder weather (my sock foot are 3mil). There are a gadzillion calls out there but Heirloom Game Calls just started making duck calls and have one available that is easy to use, wide range of volume and sounds. Git youself a whistle too for the Sprigs.

Thanks for the info. lol had to look up what a sprig was lol. Im headed to cabelas tonight to look at some calls. I will look into the waders when im there.

Have fun at Cabelas! They got lotsa calls but if they don't have a sample they will let you try, don't buy it! Some people use some calls a lot better than the rest of us can!
If "Sprig" got you going, how bout "Grays"...a.k.a, Gadwalls or Baldy, a.k.a. Widgeon which I pronounce as Weeegin, or best of all, my LA buddies "dos gris"....a.k.a. Blue Bill or Scaup...

"Poodu" gizzards make a great Gumbo !