clueless bear hunter

skimerhorn

I live in va, not known for its bear hunting.This year I want to try a diy on public land, but have no idea where to start.I primarily hunt whitetail, turkey,ducks,and geese.Where I live there is very few bear sightings at all, so I don't know what sign to look foe. I'm gonna go scout the place out a fee times before, but don't know what to look for? Can anyone please give me some advice of what sign to look for bear, should I look near water of marks on trees? And bait is illegal here, so is there any kind of other attractant to use? Like I said I'm flying blind here, just something I always wanted to try and now I'm gonna do it. I know a lot of these questions are dumb,but I'm just beginning I've never even seen a bear in the woods. Thanks in advance for any help.

I don't know of anyone back home who spot and stalk bears. It's usually dumb luck while sitting in a stand or using dogs. I'm sure it can be done, but the only bears that I've seen back East were in SNP. I wouldn't suggest hunting there though.

I would think any public land around the Dismal Swamp would be a good place to start. The counties in NC which abut the eastern VA border have heavy bear populations, but they mostly run them with dogs. You might Google for counties with high numbers of harvested bears in both states. So far as just stumbling upon one or spot & stalk I can't offer any suggestions, as I've never hunted them; only seen them in the swamps and walking through the church yard. (Really happened.)