Bulletproof Drop-Away Rest?

emrah1028

So i've always shot a whisker biscuit never a drop away. The wb's have always been "accurate enough" for me, but I'm going to be needing a new rest for a hunting bow soon and am considering a drop away. Thinking Rip Cord or QAD HDX.

Are these dead-nuts reliable? Do they get tangled up in leaves, cattails, brush, etc? How about when it's cold, snowy and drizzly out?

I live in minnesota and any rest on any of my bows must meet all those requirements, be full-capture and completely trouble free.

So what are your thoughts? Would love some feedback from actual users who've used them in similar conditions.

Thanks,

Emrah

I've been using the trophy taker pronghorn for the last 5 years and have never had a problem with it. If you ever plan on leaving your bow on top of your pickup and letting it fly off going 70 mph, the trophy taker will still be functioning.

The one I have isn't full capture, but I think they have a model that is.

I have never had a problem with brush, but I can't think of any rest that would tangled very easily.

I am a believer of the QAD and many other hunters I know have it as well. Seems that there is not much different between the rip cord and QAD its all personal opinion I do believe.

Check out the Schaffer opposition. Best rest I've ever shot. Simple, accurate and locks into the riser to ensure it doesn't move.

Had the same dilemma two years ago. Switched to the QAD and no complaints. One of those decisions where you cannot go wrong choosing from these two.

I shoot a Rip Cord on my X-force and absolutely love it, my son has a Trophy Taker on his Razor Edge and it's been great the year he's had it. Rip Cord has been through Idaho tangle, snow, etc without a problem but I always try to protect it and my sight.