Bubble float fly fishing

PFUNK

Looking for some advice on how to pull this method off most effectively. I will be taking a backpacking trip up into the rattlesnake wilderness this coming weekend and plan to do a lot of fishing on the mountain lakes up there. I do not have fly fishing gear, but have been reading up on using the bubble float with a spinning rod in order to fish flies. I have a few questions for you guys who are more experienced in this area than I am.

1. Will the swivel be too heavy for small dry flies and cause them to sink? A gentleman at the sporting goods store recommended I use small (size 16-20 I think) flies like the mosquito, ant, and adams. Seems like the swivel may sink them, but I am not sure.

2. Are there any flies you would recommend for this area and time of year? The lakes are all around 6500-7000 feet if that matters any.

3. Any other advice is appreciated. I am new to this but I really think it could help land more fish than throwing a spinner might. Thanks!

Not sure exactly how you are rigging, and not sure why you even need a swivel?

Depending on what works for you, the bubble will keep the leader and the fly at or near the surface.
Tie the bubble to the swivel, and then it won't. This is a pretty simple/forgiving method of fishing, don't overthink it, just make it work how you want it to. Even skip the swivel and just put a thread on it like you do for bobber fishing on steelhead.

My experience in high mountain lakes with a spinning rod and a fly on a bubble is that the fish don't care what fly they see, they will eat anything that is even close to them. I don't know about 20's, as you likely won't be able to see it as far as you can cast your spinning rod, so, you miss that part of the fun. Take a bunch of different flies and see what works, I always keep a few Renegades with me for when all the "great ideas" don't work, and I want to catch fish.

Good luck, it should be fun.