A little weekend project

That is exactly the look I am wanting for my new Tikka T3 light. Thanks for the beta, I may try it on my wife's rifle 1st in a different color to get the technique down. Nice job.

mike r

Thanks, guys. It was a fun little project.

Zach, I ended up using Duplicolor Self-etching primer and Rustoleum Multi-colored Texture (Desert Bisque). I was going to go with standard Rustoleum primer, but am glad I switch to the Duplicolor stuff.
Did you apply multiple coats and did you put a flat clear coat on top to seal it ?......:cool:

I did two light coats of primer to keep things as even as possible. I did the same with the paint. Several light coats 15 minutes apart until the the finish was about equal to two normal coats. I know this isn't very scientific, but I am no expert on this topic.

I will give an after action review on this following the upcoming bear hunt.

End Result

The finish held up well bear hunting last week. You can see a few wear marks, but they haven't penetrated the finish.

I doubt it had a lot to with getting this bear, but it looked good doing it. :hump:

IMG_1968.jpg

Great looking setup really like the way everything came together topped off with some pretty nice optics if I may say so;)

How's this paint holding up Ross? Would you still use the same paint/primer combo if you were doing it again?

The end result with this has exceeded what I expected. I think curing time is critical with these rattle can jobs. I would say 2-4 weeks at a minimum before it sees any abuse.

Here it is on my elk hunt this last fall. Really no worse for wear. (The pack out was short, so full legs)
image.jpg

Last edited:
I recently aquired a really nice shooting Winchester M70 in 300 WSM that is going to become somewhat of a project rifle for me (thanks to a great Hunttalker). This was actually my intent when started out with my .260 build last spring; which quickly got away from me, and turned into a custom build.