270 WSM

TN2shot07

So a friend of mine got in a bit of a pinch, had to get rid of a couple of rifles. He had a Model 70 in 270 wsm, synthetic stock, New Haven gun. It’s been fired 7 times. Also came with 5 boxes of the Winchester silver tips, which I’ve never used before. Just wanted to see if anyone had experience with them and if they’re generally shooters? (Guess it’s too late since I picked it up already). Also never owned or shot one, wasn’t sure what to expect.
Thanks!

I have a 270WSM. Its actually my favorite deer/Antelope gun.It shoots lights out and hits hard. I have not shot the silvertips in it but I have used them in 300WM. I have no issues with them for deer but for elk in my opinion they are not tough enough.I have shot a few elk with them including my best bull and it just didn't perform like I wanted. In a 270WSM they would be great and I would shoot them in mine.

Thanks! I’ve heard they aren’t the toughest bullet. I normally shoot accubonds if they shoot well out of the rifle, but since it came with all that ammo I hate to not use it. Also should last a while, didn’t figure it’s one you’d want to spend a day at the range with.

270wsm is a killing caliber, period. I have used one for several years. Deer, antelope, bear, elk, coyote. I shoot berger 150 vld in mine. It will ruin some meat, but nothing limps away. Killed elk at over 500 yards. Great caliber.

Thanks! I’ve heard they aren’t the toughest bullet. I normally shoot accubonds if they shoot well out of the rifle, but since it came with all that ammo I hate to not use it. Also should last a while, didn’t figure it’s one you’d want to spend a day at the range with.